Get Motivated to Quit

Changing your smoking habits can be hard. Quitting can be even harder. The first steps toward a healthier lifestyle can sometimes be the hardest, we know the challenges and can help you get motivated to kick smoking for good.

According to tobacco dependence research, the path to cessation can be broken down into five stages. Start your journey by identifying where you might fall in these stages – many successful quitters have found this model to be useful during discussions with their clinical and personal support system.

  • Stage 1 – Pre-contemplation
    Individual is not ready to make a change.
  • Stage 2 – Contemplation
    Individual is considering making a change.
  • Stage 3 – Preparation
    Individual is planning to make a change.
  • Stage 4 – Action
    Individual implements the plan from phase 3 to quit smoking.
  • Stage 5 – Maintenance
    Individual is now focused on sustaining the new tobacco-free behavior.
    For more information on the different phases of tobacco cessation, refer to this resource offered by the US Navy.